Double Chocolate Cookies

The end of June and the beginning of July is always an amazing time in my family. My mom and I’s gardens are really taking off, and the weather is amazing! It’s always in the low 80’s and it’s so sunny. My whole family spends a lot of time outside just enjoying life.

I also start to do a lot more baking and cooking around this time. There’s an abundance of fresh produce and who doesn’t love a delicious summer treat? Whether it’s banana bread, cakes, pies, or cookies there’s almost always a something sweet in the house. I’d say we all deserve it with all of the work we do outside!

In addition to being the start of the summer and the start of warm weather and garden abundance, the beginning of July also marks one of younger brother’s birthday! This year he turns twelve and I knew I had to make him something delicious.

While I appreciate a little chocolate here and there, my brothers are serious chocoholics. Chocolate cake, chocolate chip cookies, chocolate milk… You make chocolate anything and they tear it up.

However, this year I couldn’t just settle for a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe. No, I had to make something a little more special. So in addition to me creating a vegan friendly cookie recipe to fit my new plant-based diet, I decided to step up my cookie game and make double chocolate cookies.

Cocoa powder is incorporated into the dough in addition to chocolate chips. I used Toll House Simply Delicious chocolate chips because they have only three ingredients and are organic. I really like them because they’re an affordable vegan chocolate chip option that is available at most grocery stores. (I was able to find them even at a FoodLion in Smyrna, Delaware!)

If you’re looking to up the protein in this recipe you could easily use soy milk instead of almond milk and whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour. If you wanted to up the fat content you could half the applesauce and add a ground flax “egg.”

One note: the dough will be very sticky and you’ll want to either flour your hands or be prepared for a mess. I don’t really mind my hands getting a little messy so I didn’t flour my hands, but it’s definitely a way to cut down on cleanup.

My family definitely likes these cookies. Trust me, that takes more work than it should! While my siblings love chocolate, they’ve always had very particular palates. These cookies, however, are a hit! They’re fudgy and soft and most importantly… delicious!

Here’s the recipe:

I’m so glad you took the time to check this recipe out and I hope you like it. If you make this recipe and enjoy be sure to post a picture on Instagram and tag me!

I’m so glad you decided to check out my blog. Whether you stay a day, a month, or a year, I appreciate it. -Kate

Published by k.emerso00

20 year old blogger and online business owner located in the small state of Delaware, USA.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started